One thing.

1. Don’t buy anything. Ever.

I think this only applies to me. I have a problem spending money on things. It’s the opposite problem that affects most people. I really hate doing it.

I will hem and haw over something for hours, days or months and not be able to bring myself to actually fork over the cash to purchase it.

Every once in a while I actually do buy something. Inevitably, when I do this, it is a mistake. I soon realize that it doesn’t work or doesn’t fit or, as was the case with my most recent purchase, might KILL me.

IMG_20130827_123619_847

Yep. Bought some compression sleeves because of my shin pain and not a week later, a link to THIS article shows up in my twitter feed. In case you don’t want to read the article, the gist is that compression sleeves (but not socks) increase the risk of deep vein thrombosis (which is most often fatal).

So, just do yourself a favor and stop buying things.

Oh wait, I forgot. YOU can buy whatever you want. I’m the only one who is cursed when it comes to spending money. I will stop buying things.

*Just to clarify, my problem with purchasing things does not apply to groceries. I will spend obscene amounts of money on good, wholesome food. Nor does it apply to experiences. I don’t have much trouble spending money on races, or fun things to do. Just physical, non-edible things.

Author: therunningnemophilist

Nemophilist Trail runner Introvert Animal-loving vegetarian * My ideal city would be car-free. I love my cats.

4 thoughts on “One thing.”

  1. Oh no! I had not heard that about compression sleeves. I haven’t worn mine in over a year. At least socks are still okay, if you’re looking for something to help your shins. The question is: how long will it take you to firm over the cash for compression socks?? 🙂

    I’m like you. I will think on a purchase for months before I’ll buy something. Sometimes the product I’m considering isn’tavailable anymore by the ttime I decide to buy it.

Leave a comment