Preddy Creek Trail Park

Distance: ~10 miles of trails
Walking: yes
Running: yes
Biking: yes, mountain
Dogs: yes, on a leash
Kid-friendly: yes (no playground, though)
Wheelchair/stroller accessible: no
Fee: free

Check out the county website.

Take a virtual tour.

IMG_20130129_113715_081

It took me a while to make it out to this park, but now that I know what it has to offer, I’ve been back several times.

I like this park for my easy recovery runs. I find myself heading out there when I want to run in the woods, but don’t feel like tackling the hills at Walnut Creek. The main trail (Preddy Creek Loop) is just over three miles long, and the hills are not too steep.

IMG_20130129_100651_472

The park has pit toilets, which I find convenient when I need to change out of my sweaty clothes so I can stop at Target on my way home.

IMG_20130129_100559_056In addition to hiking and running, the park is an excellent spot for mountain biking and horseback riding.

The trails do get extremely slippery in wet conditions. I made the mistake of trying to run there the day after it had rained, and found myself sliding all over the place. Not fun! So, as long as it hasn’t rained for a while, I highly recommend checking out the trails at Preddy Creek.

A trail map is available here.

Directions from Charlottesville: head north on 29. Pass the Target shopping center on your left, and continue north for about four or five miles. You will go through several stoplights. At the stoplight at the intersection with Burnley Station Road, turn right. Continue on Burnley Station Road for a little less than three miles, until you see the park entrance on your left.

This entry was posted in Charlottesville Parks and Trails, Trails near Charlottesville and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Preddy Creek Trail Park

  1. Pingback: Marathon Training Week Two | Healthy in Cville

Leave a Reply

