Kiwanis 4th of July 5k 2013

IMG_20130704_083029_216My only goal for this race was to beat last year’s time. I was in a rough patch as far as running goes at this time last year, so my time had been quite slow. I had intentionally set the bar low. I’ve been working on setting goals I can actually reach. Eventually, I will need to start setting more lofty goals, but for now I am mentally in need of some accomplishments.

So, anything faster than 26:24.

We had registered online ahead of time this year. Picking up our race numbers was quick and easy again. With the exception of the clueless guy who cut in line right in front of us. I’m pretty sure he didn’t see us, but I had no idea how that was possible. Kurt pointed out that he was wearing the new Google Glass,which probably explains why he seemed to have no idea what was going on. I don’t even want to think about how disconnected everyone will be to the world around them, if these take the place of iPhones.

IMG_20130704_064952_997The man in this picture is not the one who cut in front of us.

One of my favorite things about this race is that so many families run it together. I love to see families making running a part of their holiday traditions.

It was 73 degrees and muggy at the start. About what you’d expect for a July 4th race in Charlottesville.

Kurt and I did a mile warm-up. Our 10:12 pace was a little discouraging.

I made it a point to not go out too fast. The first mile didn’t feel terrible. Mile 2 started to get a little harder, but when I got to the hill that I had to walk up last year, it seemed so insignificant. Mile 3 was the hardest. I was hot and tired, but I still felt so much better than I’d felt last year.

I crossed the finish line in 24:37.

IMG_20130704_081425_966Goal accomplished.

Happy 4th of July!

This entry was posted in Local Events, Race report and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

