Three things (July 8th-14th)

1. My husband loves peanut M&M’s, so we always have a giant bag in the house. Every once in a while, I sneak a handful. I have nothing against having a fun treat every once in a while (and my definition of “once in a while” may be on the liberal side). That’s something  I’m working on. I do, however, prefer my treats to still be actual FOOD. I don’t like the idea of the artificial flavors and colors in M&M’s.

I saw these in Target earlier this week and was intrigued.

IMG_20130707_121059_892The back of the label says “No chemicals, no hydrogenateds, no preservatives, no corn syrup, no artificials, no GMO’s”.

They’re colored with turmeric extract and cabbage and beet juice.

IMG_20130707_121007_696I figured the only difference between these and M&M’s would be that they are made with all natural ingredients. I was surprised to learn that their nutrition profile is actually better, too.

Peanut M&Ms                                         Unreal
Calories per 1.5 oz: 220                        Calories per 1.5 oz: 200
Protein: 4g                                              Protein: 6g
Sugar: 22g                                               Sugar: 16g
Fiber: 1g                                                   Fiber: 3g
Calcium: 4%                                             Calcium: 45%

So, how did they taste? A little strange at first, probably just because I was expecting them to taste like Peanut M&M’s and they don’t. I also thought that I could taste the powdered milk. I tried them again the next day, though, and loved them.

Verdict: A good swap!

2. I started using the Lose It! Ap on my phone again.

lose itMy afternoon snacking was starting to get a little out of control. Knowing that I will have to look at my total calories for the day makes me think twice about eating that extra granola bar or piece of chocolate or 6 handfuls of Unreal chocolate covered peanuts.

One of my favorite things about this Ap (other than being able to scan barcodes, So cool!) is that it gives a realistic “calories burned” estimate for activities. Most people tend to grossly overestimate how many calories they burn while exercising.

I have to admit, though, that the calorie budget is low, at least for me. If I try to stay within the calorie budget it sets for me, I am too hungry.

3. I went to Rachel’s Boot Camp class at Snap Hollymead.

It was not like this.

UntitledMore like this.

group exBut I liked it.

About healthyincville

Nemophilist Trail runner Introvert Animal-loving vegetarian * My ideal city would be car-free. I love my cats.
This entry was posted in Three things and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Three things (July 8th-14th)

  1. So, I read this a few days ago and have been thinking of Peanut M&M’s ever since. After my morning run today, I stopped at Target on my way home to buy a few necessities. Dark chocolate Peanut M&M’s apparently are necessary after a run because somehow a bag came home with me. The bag is 25% more empty now. Add portion control and will-power to my list of things on which to improve.

    • Um, that’s not quite what I was going for when I wrote this post…
      I used to make Kurt hide them from me. He has no problem eating just a handful, but once I start, I can’t stop.

Leave a Reply

