Three Things (July 15th-21st)

1. Take the stairs.

stairsWhile we were driving (vacation was awesome, but it did involve many hours in the car), I read an article about  Mayor Bloomberg (famous for getting NY restaurants to post calorie counts, and banning the sale of large soft drinks). He is now working to pass legislation that will make stairs in NY City more accessible and inviting.

I agree that some of his ideas may be a bit misguided, but making stairs available to people who would like to use them? That sounds like a great idea to me.

I make it a point to take the stairs whenever I can. In fact, I always take the stairs when we stay in hotels, and, at some point while I’m there, I climb to the top floor. It’s just what I do. Most hotels we stay in only have 5 floors or so, so it’s not a huge deal.

This trip, I climbed 45 flights at our hotel in PA, and we were only there one night.

Other great stair-taking opportunities are at malls and airports. Often the empty staircase is right in the middle of two jam-packed escalators.

Next time you find yourself faced with an opportunity to take the stairs, do yourself a favor and take them!

2. The Nutrition Diva’s Quick and Dirty Tips

Monica Reinagel (aka the Nutrition Diva) is a great resource for diet and nutrition information.

nutrition diva

I collect a bunch of her free Quick and Dirty Tips podcasts from iTunes and am in my glory listening to them for hours at a time on road trips. Kurt would prefer to listen to Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me, but whatever.

3. To weigh or not to weigh

scale 2One of the Nutrition Diva’s episodes that I listened to during our drive was about the pros and cons of weighing yourself.

As a personal trainer, I’m constantly telling people not to pay too much attention to what the scale says, that they should instead focus on how they feel and how their clothes fit.

But

Many studies have shown that weighing often (even every day) can help people stay on track with their healthy eating and fat-loss goals.

It has worked for me in the past. There was a time when I weighed myself everyday, and it did help me maintain my weight.

But

It felt a little obsessive. And, if I’ve gone for a while without weighing myself and I hop on the scale and my weight is down, I notice that I’m much more likely to cut myself a bigger piece of cheesecake or help myself to a muffin the size of my head for breakfast because I feel as though I can afford to because I’m getting so skinny. Or, my weight is up and I get discouraged and don’t feel as motivated to stay on track.

When we got home from vacation, Kurt announced that he was launching Operation Lose 3 Pounds (OL3P). A piece of paper with his current weight appeared on the dining room table next to our Baseball Push-up spreadsheet. I felt a little pressure to add my name.

I hadn’t weighed myself in a while, but first thing the next morning I hopped on the scale. I was 3.8 pounds above what I think of as my “happy weight”. I added my name to the sheet.

The moral? There are much better ways of monitoring health than weight, but I do think that in some circumstances, regular weighing can be a helpful practice.

Nutrition Diva

  • “I’m here to help you sort food facts from fiction, separate the good information from the bad, and to make eating healthy just a little bit easier – and a lot saner.”
    Monica Reinagel, MS, LD/N, CNS

    Connect with me on Facebook and Twitter.
    Subscribe to my podcast on iTunes or via RSS.

– See more at: http://www.quickanddirtytips.com/nutrition-diva#sthash.CVXFoHVY.dpuf

About healthyincville

Nemophilist Trail runner Introvert Animal-loving vegetarian * My ideal city would be car-free. I love my cats.
This entry was posted in Three things and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Three Things (July 15th-21st)

  1. Great thoughts! I always try to take the stairs when it’s an option. Sometimes, if I’m in heels or have a heavy armful of items I’ll take an elevator, but that’s about it.

    I’ll have to check out the Nutrition Diva. I’ve really focused on getting away from as many processed foods as possible – making meals from scratch and cutting back on processed snacks. Honestly, I struggle with the weigh/not weigh debate. I struggle with yo-yo dieting – over-restricting then binging, emotional eating, etc. Weighing myself has definitely encouraged the bad behaviors for me in the past. I’m trying to decide if counting calories or trying intuitive eating (while still eating natural and healthy) would be a better option. Still figuring it out!

    Great ideas to ponder here! 🙂

    • Amy,

      I’m almost always in running shoes or athletic sandals so it’s easy for me to take the stairs.

      I was a yo-yo dieter for years. What finally worked for me was deciding NOT to diet anymore. I actually gained a little weight at first, but then SLOWLY lost about 25 pounds. I still eat too much at times, but instead of letting that turn into a week-long binge, I go back to eating normally right away instead of trying to make up for it by skipping meals or eating celery for dinner.

      I am amazed at the foods I can eat and not gain weight, but, if nothing is off-limits (and i know i can have more whenever i want) I find it much easier to moderate.

      For me, weighing everyday at FIRST would have been a very bad idea. I think it’s a better idea for maintenance, or to lose a few pounds that have creeped up on you. I guess I wasn’t clear about that.

      Any way, I think you’ve got the right idea with choosing unprocessed foods. The more fresh veggies and fruits, the better!

Leave a Reply

