Marathon training officially starts tomorrow!

My training program had apparently gotten lost in the shuffle, but I finally got it today. Kurt got his a week ago, and I have to admit, I’ve been pretty impatient waiting for mine.

I think I’ve been so eager to get my plan because I’ve decided to do something different this year. I’ve decided to actually do what it says.

Crazy, I KNOW.

IMG_20130730_104320_650

I had said that my “A” goal for my fall marathon was to qualify for Boston. That means taking 12 minutes off my best marathon time.

Two years ago I ran a half marathon at an 8:01 pace. I need to run an 8:24 pace for twice that distance in order to qualify for Boston.  Based on my half marathon PR, Runner’s World race pace calculator says I should be able to run a full at an 8:19 pace. Yes, it’s a stretch.

Since that half marathon PR two years ago, my race times have been really slow: half marathon paces slower than previous full marathon paces; 5Ks slower than previous half marathon paces.

Coach even wrote on my program: “This is a bit of a stretch based on your recent 2013 times. I.E. your pathetic 8:11 pace at 10 miler.” OK, he didn’t say “pathetic”, but let’s face it, it’s what he meant.

Me and my lofty goals.

I think part of my problem is that I don’t run my “easy” runs slow enough when it’s hot out. I’m planning to change that this season. I’ve already run my last two easy runs at a true “easy” pace. They were slow! In order to spare my ego, I think I’m going to have to leave my Garmin at home.

I’m also going to pay closer attention to my nutrition, and make sure I take my iron supplements.

Tomorrow my plan calls for 7-8 miles with four 15 second hill pickups toward the end.

Is it tomorrow morning yet?

I’m ready to start this thing!

26.2

About healthyincville

Nemophilist Trail runner Introvert Animal-loving vegetarian * My ideal city would be car-free. I love my cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

