Three Things July 29th-August 4th

1. Fruit isn’t bad for you.

apple2

Halleluja!

Have you heard people say that they’re trying to eat less fruit because it’s so high in sugar?

I have too. It sounded like crazy talk to me, but it still made me wonder if maybe I shouldn’t be eating quite so much.

So, I was overjoyed when I came across this New York Times article earlier this week.

Making the case for eating fruit

Jorge, a reader from Illinois’ response to the article was; “An article and discussion about fruit being good for us? Don’t forget “water is necessary”, “love makes us happy” “sleep when you are tired”… Who knew?”

I’m happy to know that I’m not the only one who thought that common sense should have told us this one.

2. Run Slower to Run Faster

ric-half-002

Train Slower, Race Faster

The gist of this article is that elite runners run most of their weekly mileage at a slow, easy pace. This allows them to 1.) run a LOT of miles per week without getting injured 2.) feel fresh enough to really push hard during their speed sessions.

According to the article, most age group runners don’t run their “easy” runs easy enough, and would benefit from training more like the elites.

The article cites a study that showed runners who ran 80 percent of their weekly mileage below lactate threshold improved race times significantly more than runners who ran only 70 percent of their weekly mileage below lactate threshold.

I’m guilty of running my easy runs too fast, especially in the summer. I pay too much attention to my Garmin. I know that my “easy” pace is about 9:15-9:45 depending on terrain, so I try to run all my easy runs at that pace.

So, even if it’s 90 degrees and 100 percent humidity, or I’m stressed, or I haven’t had a solid night’s sleep in a week, I still try to run at that same pace. The only problem is, under these circumstances, I’m no longer running at an easy pace. String together a couple weeks of trying to run at a too-fast pace and it’s no wonder I end up run-down, exhausted and not able to complete my more challenging workouts.

I’ve slowed down my easy runs. I’ll let you know if it works.

3. My favorite healthy pancake recipe

pancake2

I’ve been craving pancakes lately, so I figured I’d share my go-to pancake recipe with you.

1 egg
2 Tbsp oil (I use canola)
1 Tbsp honey
3/4 cup milk (I use unsweetened vanilla soy. I’ve used almond, but definitely prefer the soy in this recipe)
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup oats
3 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt

Beat egg until foamy. Add wet ingredients, and then dry.

Makes about 5 pancakes. If I have any leftover, I freeze them and then pop them into the toaster on mornings when I don’t have much time. They do dry out, so they’re definitely best eaten fresh from the griddle.

About healthyincville

Nemophilist Trail runner Introvert Animal-loving vegetarian * My ideal city would be car-free. I love my cats.
This entry was posted in Three things and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Three Things July 29th-August 4th

  1. thank you for the Times article and the great recipe! Happy Friday!

  2. dinendashrunners says:

    I can’t wait to try the pancakes! I am always on the hunt for a healthy recipe!

Leave a Reply

