Three Things (A Little Late)

1. OL3P is a Bust

So, in case you’ve forgotten (or missed my earlier post) Kurt launched Operation Lose 3 Pounds when we got back from vacation. It involved a sheet of paper where we diligently recorded our weight every morning. We did this for over a month. Our weights both sort of followed a painfully slow downward-ish trend. Neither of us lost 3 pounds.

I started skipping a day of weighing myself here and there when I felt like I’d eaten too much the day before and didn’t feel like facing the scale.

Then I skipped three days in a row. I confessed to Kurt, who said “I’m not doing it anymore, either. Throw it away”.

IMG_20130830_063449_648

So I did.

Lessons learned?
1. Don’t try to lose weight when you’re training for a marathon
2. Daily weighing works better for weight maintenance than for weight loss, at least for me.
3. If daily weigh-ins are causing stress, they’re probably not doing you any good

2. If you don’t want to eat celery, then you probably shouldn’t eat anything

Have you heard this? It’s supposed to be a tool to determine whether you want to eat because of actual, physical hunger, or for some other reason.

As you may recall, I’ve been doing some stress eating. I want to stop. Kummerspeck is most definitely not going to help me qualify for Boston.

I don’t remember where I first read this tip about thinking about whether a healthy food sounds appealing or not to determine your level of hunger. I do remember that the food that original article said to think about was an apple. I very quickly realized that wouldn’t work for me. I LOVE apples. I’ve been known to eat three or four a day. I don’t have to be hungry to thoroughly enjoy an apple.

Now, celery, on the other hand, is not even close to being my favorite vegetable. I mean, it’s okay, but I have to be pretty hungry before I want to eat it.

IMG_20130831_134441_046

Want some?

To be completely honest, this doesn’t always work the way it’s intended to. Sometimes,  before I bite into a granola bar or chocolate (or even a fig or peach) I’ll ask myself if I’m hungry enough to eat celery. Sometimes the answer is “no”, but I don’t stop and put down whatever non-celery food item I happen to be holding in my hand. I eat it anyway.

I do think that just being aware of how often I’m eating when I’m not truly hungry is a good place to start, though.

3. Vegan Zucchini Chocolate Chip Muffins

We had some of our (amazingly awesome!) AT friends stay with us last week. One of them is Vegan, so I had an excuse to experiment with some vegan baking.

I was planning to make Morning Glory muffins, but I stumbled upon this recipe for Zucchini Chocolate Chip Muffins, and with all the local zucchini in the stores lately, I couldn’t resist.

IMG_20130828_145344_016

I followed the recipe exactly, which I rarely do. The only exception was for the optional 2 tablespoons of Stevia. I used all real sugar. I still haven’t made up my mind about Stevia, but my gut feeling is that it can’t be too good for you.

I was a little concerned about how they would turn out. They didn’t have any sort of egg substitute, which I thought is what holds muffins together.

They held together just fine, though.

IMG_20130828_110120They were more delicious than they look. I am (thankfully) a better baker than photographer.

I’ve been doing more than my fair share of muffin sampling lately (all in the name of research, for a future post) and these muffins are better than a lot of the bakery muffins I’ve had.

About healthyincville

Nemophilist Trail runner Introvert Animal-loving vegetarian * My ideal city would be car-free. I love my cats.
This entry was posted in Three things and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Three Things (A Little Late)

  1. Meagan says:

    I think the best thing to do when you want to monitor your weight for weight loss is to choose one day a week to weigh yourself. Weight fluctuates too much from one day to the next and it’ll just end up discouraging you. That being said, you’re definitely right- trying to lose weight while marathon training just isn’t going to happen.

    Celery would not work for me for the “if you don’t want anything healthy” test. I do not like celery at all. I just cannot stand how stringy it is. However, I have used this same test with any other fruit or veggie we have in the house, to help determine if I’m really hungry or just bored.

Leave a Reply

