Marathon Training Week Five

Monday:
Scheduled rest day

Tuesday:

Scheduled:
5 easy miles

Actual:
5 easy miles around town before work
9:52 pace

I got my bathing suit and water belt out the night before, thinking that I should probably do some pool running until my shin feels better, but in the morning I grabbed my running clothes instead.

I felt my shin while I was running, but it didn’t hurt.

I stopped by Ragged Mountain Running Shop after work to look at compressions socks and sleeves and to talk to Mark about my shin and my inability to hit my training paces.

He seemed to be a little concerned that I might have a stress fracture, but said it’s more likely that I’m just fatigued from stress (life stress, not running stress). He told me to keep an eye on it and to stop running if it got any worse.

I ended up buying some swanky purple compression sleeves.

IMG_20130827_123619_847He also didn’t seem too concerned about my running paces. He said I might just not be there at this point in my training, but that didn’t necessarily mean that I wouldn’t be able to get there by November.

I left feeling a little more hopeful about my shin and my marathon time goal.

We’ll see.

Wednesday:

Scheduled:
8 easy miles with 8 hill pick ups

Actual:
8.25 miles between the track and The Park with 8 hill pick ups
10:16 pace

I get home from work between 8:45 and 9pm on Tuesday nights, go straight to bed and am up at 4:40 am in order to get my 8 mile run in before work on Wednesdays.

As usual, I was tired. It wasn’t as bad as last week, though. I wasn’t completely soaked until the last mile and I felt okay during my hill repeats.

I felt my shin the whole time and it stressed me out, but it didn’t hurt. It’s so strange. I can’t feel it when I press on it. It doesn’t hurt when I jump, or point or flex my toe. It just kind of aches.

Thursday:

Scheduled:
5 easy miles

Actual:
5 easy miles in Hollymead before work
10:10 pace

Strength:
2 circuits of:
20 squats (I’ve stopped doing jump squats because I can’t imagine that they’d be good for my shin)
15 push ups
15 single leg dead lifts (each leg)
1 minute plank with leg raises

I was excited because my shin seemed better when I woke up this morning. I barely felt it for the first two miles, but then it gradually seemed to get worse.

Afterwards, it ached on and off, and I found a definite sore spot, which completely freaked me out.

I spent a good two hours Googling “what does a tibial stress fracture feel like”. What did I learn? That I might have a stress fracture.

I am very displeased to report that I spent the afternoon feeling very sorry for myself and eating too much junk food. Well, trail mix, granola bars and dark chocolate, so not complete junk food. But definitely much more than I needed.

This only made me feel worse. I’ve learned this lesson before…

Friday:

Scheduled rest day.
My hamstrings were pretty sore from yesterday’s dead lifts.
I went for a very slow 5 mile hike to Sherando Lake from the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Saturday:

Scheduled:
10 miles with 2 X 4 miles at marathon pace

Actual:
4.25 miles with 3 miles at attempted marathon pace
1 hour of pool running

I had been going back and forth on whether I should try to run, or just go straight to the pool. I decided to try the run, but to stop and go to the pool if my shin felt at all like I shouldn’t be running on it. Of course, I really couldn’t tell. It felt worse than it’s been feeling, but I wasn’t sure if that was just because I was obsessing over it or not. I changed my mind about twenty times, but I ended up taking the first chance I had to loop back to the start.

The good news is that I was very close to hitting marathon pace for the three miles that I ran (with hills and street lights and all) and it didn’t feel terribly hard. The bad news is I wasn’t able to finish the workout and I don’t know how long It’ll be before I can run again.

I had spent all day Thursday thinking that I wouldn’t be able to run any of my upcoming races. Right now, I’m able to run. If whatever injury I have is progressing, I want to stop running before I get to the point where I am unable to run. I honestly don’t know if I’m being overly cautious, but I REALLY don’t want to have to stop running for weeks or months!

I think pool running is crazy boring. I ended up having to do intervals because there is NO WAY that I could just do a steady pool run for an hour.

At least I was outside. I also had the entire pool to myself, which was nice.

Sunday:

Scheduled:
4 easy miles

Actual:
40 minutes (11.5 miles) on the bike at the gym

IMG_20130901_164148
Strength:
3 circuits of:
assisted pull-ups (starting with 2 reps and increasing assistance & # of reps each time)
15 sit ups (bicycle crunches second round, windshield wipers third round)
15 push ups (one hand on medicine ball switching hands each rep)
75 second plank with leg raises

IMG_20130901_170033I had planned to go to the pool again, but the thought of doing 40 more minutes of pool running was more than I could take.

I don’t hate the bike. It’s a distant second to running, but I can get into it if I have to 🙂

I’m really bummed to not be running.

About healthyincville

Nemophilist Trail runner Introvert Animal-loving vegetarian * My ideal city would be car-free. I love my cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Marathon Training Week Five

  1. Honestly compression gear has helped me more than I could have ever imagined. It’s amazing, especially before/after long runs and when you travel!

  2. Meagan says:

    I’m glad you were able to get some advice and reassurance at the running shop! I have those same compression sleeves and for awhile I ran in them for every run and a few races. I’ve been through a stress fracture, and it’s no fun. The compression sleeves made a world of difference, though. I’m no doctor, but I can tell you my own experience with shin pain. I ignored it/pushed through it to the point where it hurt all of the time and when I pressed on a specific spot on my shin it was very painful (I had a stress fracture at that point). You’re being really smart by not ignoring it and pushing through. Better to take a week or so off now to let things get better than continue training, make things worse, and potentially miss your race. Plenty of time until November!

    Don’t underestimate the power of R-I-C-E and lots of calf stretching!

    • Meagan,
      Was your stress fracture in your tibia? What did it feel like before it got bad? It’s driving me crazy not knowing what’s going on!

      • Meagan says:

        Yes, on my tibia (the inner part of my shin). For me, it started out as a burning pain up and down my entire shin that would get worse with running and then go away when I stopped. I continued to run and the pain got worse, eventually localizing to one specific spot on my shin. It hurt a lot to press on that spot and it was extremely painful to run on. It would throb all day long.

        Your situation sounds a bit different from what I went through, but I also don’t want to say that you don’t have a stress fracture. I do think that it would be out of the ordinary for you to start having pain and for it to already be a stress fracture. They usually happen over time, from what I’ve read and experienced. The best thing you can do to put your mind at ease is to schedule an appointment with an orthopedic doctor. They can do an x-ray, but often you can’t see a stress fracture with an x-ray. In my case, I had to have a bone scan for the doctor to reach a diagnosis.

      • Thanks for the advice!
        I’m pretty sure I don’t have a stress fracture. I just wish I knew what was going on! My shin seems to bother me more when I’m NOT running. I made an appointment with a sports Dr. but the earliest he can see me is September 25!

  3. How do you find pool running? I’m so curious about it but have never tried! Anything I need to know?

    Sorry to hear that your leg is still giving you grief! Take it easy! And rock those compression socks often!! Love them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

