A week of just running

I ditched the training schedule this week. I was hoping that an easy, low-mileage week would help me get back to feeling normal.

Tuesday:

3 mile trail run at Walnut Creek.

IMG_20130915_134650IMG_20130910_103930_933I ran naked and it felt good.

By naked, I mean without my Garmin.

Thursday:

4.17 miles at Monticello

I had to break out the headlamp this morning. It was dark!

One rabbit and two bullfrogs crossed my path while I was running.

Here’s something you probably didn’t know about me: one of my very first jobs was teaching swimming lessons to frogs (andΒ  a few toads, but they didn’t seem to enjoy it as much). I was seven and I didn’t get paid, but all those frogs you see swimming around so gracefully? That was me.

frog3I also coached an imaginary girl’s high school track team from the back-back of my mom’s car. I had them follow behind us wherever we went. Those girls ran far! They could run all the way to Wareham and back. That was 10, maybe 15 miles.

In hindsight, I think it must have been a cross-country team, but I’m pretty sure I’d never heard of cross-country at the time. My girls didn’t just run far. They ran fast! It was before they built the interstate, but I’ll bet mom got that station wagon up to 40 miles an hour.

Can YOU run that fast?

Give me some frogs or an imaginary track team and I am one kick-ass coach.

Friday:

2.72 miles around Price Lake (off the Blue Ridge Parkway near Boone, NC)

IMG_20130913_144849_346IMG_20130915_135804

This was my favorite place to run when I lived in Boone. It’s still pretty special. I thoroughly enjoyed this short run.

Sunday:

8 miles on Ridge Road.

IMG_20130915_084251_102It was a beautiful, crisp fall morning.

Unfortunately, the weather didn’t help my pace much.

I’m afraid that after a week of drastically reduced mileage and nothing but easy runs, I’m still not feeling any better.

sad2

About healthyincville

Nemophilist Trail runner Introvert Animal-loving vegetarian * My ideal city would be car-free. I love my cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A week of just running

  1. Keep your head up! Tough runs are better than no run at all — and quite frankly they are the ones that make us the strongest.

  2. I’ve been doing something similar myself. After several weeks of struggling to find the right nutrition to stay fueled during runs while losing weight, a lack of energy while running, and several failed PR attempts, I switched to a “just run” strategy to try to take the pressure off and enjoy running. Sometimes it helps to not stress over pace and enjoy running. Sounds like you had a great running week in beautiful locations!

    PS – Just wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you for Liebster Award. It’s a peer to peer “recognition”, so to speak. πŸ™‚ If you’d like to participate, check out http://www.coffeescarvesandrunningshoes.com/2013/09/why-you-should-connect-with-other-bloggers.html

    • I do get to run in beautiful places all the time! I wish I could just appreciate that, and not get upset that I’m not running as fast as I’d like.
      Thanks for the award!! Hopefully I’ll figure it all out πŸ™‚

  3. dinendashrunners says:

    Those look like beautiful places to run! Sure beats my city views!

    I am so sorry that you aren’t feeling better yet. As long as you are getting some runs in you are still making progress and that’s what matters!! Enjoy ’em!

    Leah

  4. Meagan says:

    You had some very scenic runs! I wish I had known about that trail in Boone when we went camping there a few years ago. It looks really nice. Did you ever go to Grandfather Mountain when you lived in Boone? I am sorry you are not feeling any better. Is it still your shin? Don’t beat yourself up and hang in there. I hope things get better for you soon!

  5. Andi says:

    Sorry to see you’ve also been having running troubles! I’ve finally bookmarked your blog–you have great ideas for things to do other than running.

  6. Kathleen says:

    you have the greatest running views! Makes me want to get out of my city runs and find a trail somewhere to run “naked” one day πŸ™‚

  7. The trails are so beautiful! I completely understand how you feel and I hope your relationship with running improves soon! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

