Danger! Zombies! Run! 5K (2013)

IMG_20131027_110008_669Kurt and I have run this race for the past two years. It’s always so much fun. This year, however, it didn’t look like we’d be running. After I got back from the Zooma Half Marathon, I did something to my back.

The Thursday before the race, it had been almost two weeks since I’d run. I tried to run on the treadmill at the gym, but stopped after only a quarter of a mile. My back pain had pretty much gone away, until I tried to run. Running hurt, so I rode the stationary bike instead. Again.

That night, Kurt asked if I thought I’d be able to do the Zombies 5K. I told him I really didn’t think so, since I hadn’t even been able to run 1/4 mile that morning. He seemed pretty disappointed. I told him he could run, but he said that wouldn’t be any fun.

I rested on Friday, and tried to run again on Saturday. It hurt, but not nearly bad as it had a few weeks ago, or even just two days ago. I ran 3 miles. As soon as I got home, I told Kurt I’d run with him if he still wanted to do it. He definitely did!

We went to Goodwill to look for costumes. Right away, I found a plaid skirt and decided I’d be a school girl zombie. I went in search of a white button down shirt.

Kurt found a Grateful Dead shirt and decided to be a hippie.

We stopped at Target and picked up some knee socks and hair ribbons for me. And finished our shopping at the Halloween Store, where Kurt got a wig and some sunglasses.

We washed our costumes, and then stained them with tea and ripped them up.

Sunday morning, we got to the race pretty early because we still needed to register. I was randomly given bib #420, which really should have gone to my hippie husband.

We had some time to kill while we were waiting for the race to start, so we took some goofy pictures.

IMG_20131027_075514_501IMG_20131027_075631_886IMG_20131027_075906_805IMG_20131027_081921_442(1)And then met up with all our fellow zombies at the starting line.

IMG_20131027_082251_338The humans start first. They all have red ribbons taped to their backs. Ninety seconds later, the zombies are let loose, to try to catch and kill the humans (by collecting their ribbons). The race shirts this year said “zombies love fast food”, which I thought was pretty clever.

The race course is hilly, which I think is perfect for a Halloween themed race (more of a trick than a treat).

IMG_20131027_090712_721

IMG_20131027_090652_216I don’t really know why, but I always think it’s a lot of fun to run through town wearing a costume.

Everybody loved the hippie zombie.

IMG_20131027_090443_918The temperature was barely above freezing, so a nice hot cup of coffee from Mudhouse was exactly what this school girl zombie needed after the race.

IMG_20131027_110413The awards ceremony was pretty disorganized, and rushed. Not too many people stayed for it, anyway.

Awards were given out to the first over-all zombie and human finishers, the zombies with the most kills, and best costume male and female adult and children.

They had a few extra awards, so they made up or extended some of the categories until they were out of prizes. The prizes were things like a bloody rubber foot, a ghoul on a stick and headless skeletons.

These two won the best costume awards.

IMG_20131027_094244_444

A look back:

2012

2012-zombies2011

IMAG0138We’re thinking next year we might try to coordinate our costumes.

About healthyincville

Nemophilist Trail runner Introvert Animal-loving vegetarian * My ideal city would be car-free. I love my cats.
This entry was posted in Local Events, Race report and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Danger! Zombies! Run! 5K (2013)

  1. Meagan says:

    This race looks like so much fun and I love your costumes!! Y’all are really good at zombie costumes. I love the idea of having the humans go first and then sending the zombies after them. If I were a zombie, I would totally end up running a PR because I’d be focusing on how many red ribbons I could get! How do they make sure they get enough people and humans? Or does it just balance itself out? I would figure more people would want to be zombies and get to go for “the kill.”

    I hope that your back is feeling better! I hurt my back last year and couldn’t move for about a week. It really sucked and now I have mild, chronic upper back pain. Luckily running doesn’t affect it.

    • I’m pretty sure I pulled a muscle. My back is still feeling better, so I think I’m pretty much healed.
      We’ve never caught any “live” humans. Some of the zombies take off at a full sprint. It’s really competitive!

  2. So much fun! I ran a half today and there were lots of people in costumes, including some impressive zombies!

  3. Henry Smart says:

    I liked your costumes and all the pics. Kurt makes a great hippie!

  4. I love all the costumes! Looks like a deadly run LOL!

  5. dinendashrunners says:

    I just got a chance to look at this! Those costumes are amazing! I love it!! I think its so awesome that you both do the race! It looks so fun. I want to find a good zombie run now!!!

    – Leah

Leave a Reply

