Thirty days at ACAC

IMG_20140122_103644_979Overall, I was happy with my thirty days as a member of ACAC.

I was impressed with the variety and number of classes, although I only took advantage of the yoga classes.

I anticipated that I’d mostly just be using the showers (after running outside) and taking yoga classes, but the unusually cold weather found me taking advantage of the treadmills on more than a few occasions.

I went back to the Kripalu yoga class one more time, but the substitute instructor was there again, so I still don’t know any more about this style of yoga.

I was also hoping to make it to an Ashtanga yoga class, but it never happened.

It was interesting to me that my thirty days came and went and I never got a call or email from ACAC. I was sort of under the impression that they offered discounts like this hoping to acquire new members. I’m probably not interested in joining, but I have no idea how much it would cost, or what it would involve.

To their credit, they did fix the one problem I had during my time there quickly and without any hassle. When I signed up, I was told that I could have the thirty days start on whichever date I wanted it to. I signed up on December 31st, but chose to have my membership start on January 5th. Toward the end of January, I asked what date my membership would end and was told February 28th. Wait! That’s not 30 days. They had started my membership the day I signed up. I had to wait for somebody from membership to show up, but as soon as they did, they extended my membership, no questions asked.

Pros:

  • variety and number of yoga (and other) classes
  • Alex’s yoga classes in particular
  • assisted pull-up machine (I love that thing!)
  • convenience (I can walk to work from the downtown location)
  • towels and hair dryers provided

Cons:

  • not sure of price/pretty sure it’s too much
  • thirty minute limit on the treadmills
  • extremely crowded locker room
  • not open early enough on weekends

Verdict:

If ACAC were the same price as my other gym, I would switch just for Alex’s yoga classes. But, the price is not the same, so I will most likely return to my old gym this weekend. The city of Charlottesville has decent facilities for very reasonable rates (especially if you live within the city limits, which I don’t).

This entry was posted in Local Events, miscellaneous and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

