run. run. run.

tri

PhotoGrid_1403903160241I’ve done several sprint and olympic distance triathlons.

The half (and full) iron distances are still on my bucket list.

Recently, I read Shades of Gray’s race report for her first triathlon (a half iron distance!) and it got me thinking more seriously about doing a half. I suggested as much to her, and she sent me a training program. She said I could start with week 4 and be ready for the Richmond Rox Half Iron Triathlon in September.

I knew about that race. It was the one I figured I’d do, when I finally got around to doing one.

I looked at the program she sent me, got out my planner and penciled in all of the workouts for June and July. I went to bed excited about my return to triathlon.

As I was lying there trying to sleep, I started thinking about everything that I would need to buy:

A bike rack for my car (I now have a hatchback and the rack we have doesn’t fit)
New tri shorts (my one pair is probably threadbare at this point)
New bike shorts (ditto, and I don’t want to be doing all that riding in tri shorts. Ouch!)
A tri top (I used to swim in (and ride?!) in my sports bra.) That won’t be happening again.
Those fancy pedals with the clips (which means I need fancy shoes, too…)
Goggles that don’t leak.
A gym membership.

I don’t like buying things. One of the reasons I don’t do more triathlons is the fact that they require so much stuff.

Bicycling is okay. I’d enjoy it a lot more if I didn’t have to fear for my life sharing the road with cars. I also don’t like being dependent upon the machine. I’m not confident in my ability to fix mechanical problems that may arise. I can usually put the chain back on. I might be able to change the front tube if I absolutely had to. I’ve done it in the living room, while watching somebody show me how on You Tube.

I love swimming, but I prefer to do it here:

IMG_20130714_055125_033An early morning swim across Sibley Pond is one of my favorite ways to start the day when we’re on vacation in Maine. The water is warmer than the cool morning air. Everything is still and quiet except for the occasional call of a loon.

I would do that every day if I could.

But swimming laps at the crowded pool at the gym?

Not my favorite.

The next morning, I took another look at the schedule. There was a lot of swimming, a ton of cycling and not much running. Today, I needed to swim 800 meters and run 4 miles. That meant I’d have to swim, change into running clothes, run, come back, shower, and still be at work by 8:30. What a hassle! I just wanted to go for a run in the woods.

So that’s what I did.

The next morning, I was supposed to go for a bike ride. I haven’t ridden my bike in over a year. It’s been outside under the porch. It’s not exactly in great condition. I didn’t want to chance it on roads that I wasn’t too keen about riding on anyway. I’d need to renew my gym membership and ride on a stationary bike.

But I didn’t feel like renewing my gym membership and riding on a stationary bike. I felt like going for a run in the woods…

I understand if you are thinking that I don’t want to do a half iron triathlon after all.

But you’re very wrong.

I truly want to do one (even more so after looking back through all my pictures.)

Doing one sounds like a spectacularly fun way to spend a Sunday, but that’s the thing:

I want to just do it.

I don’t want to train for it.

And somehow, that seems like a bad idea (a very expensive bad idea.)

So I am putting my dream of completing a long-distance triathlon back on hold.

For now, I will (just) run.

run. run. run.

Oh, and just for fun, here’s a terrible race photo taken at my very first triathlon, back in 2006.

tri6You’re welcome πŸ™‚

Also, if anybody wants to pay my registration fee, you know, just to see what happens when an idiot signs up for a half iron distance triathlon and doesn’t train for it, let me know…

This entry was posted in miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to run. run. run.

  1. Danielle says:

    Ha ha. Gotta love those horrible race photos, right?!

    Also ha ha to the run.run.run. I just like to go out and run too. I am never going to do an Ironman, but even when it comes to racing, I don’t want to TRAIN, I just want to run πŸ™‚ Puts a bit of a damper on any fast times when I don’t want to actually do the workouts, just go do a mellow run in the woods! I get it, for sure!

    • I guess I have the same problem. I don’t want to do the workouts, either. Now I just need to stop expecting to see the results (fast race times) from the workouts that I’m not doing, and everything will be fine πŸ™‚

    • Oh, and horrible race photos, yes! Gotta love them πŸ™‚ I’ve been thinking about making a collage. Might be fun.

  2. I’ll take a run in the woods or in the middle of nowhere over the gym or even busy trails any day! And I bet you would rock the race without training for it! 😊

    • Yes. My quiet time in the woods is essential right now πŸ™‚ Glad I’m not the only one who feels that way.
      I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t rock it, but I might be able to finish it πŸ˜‰ Nice of you to say, though!

  3. Meagan says:

    Haha thanks for the terrible race photos. I always manage to not actually look like a human in my official race photos. I think you’re making the smart decision to just run, since that’s what you want to do. Although I love that Shades of Gray sent you over a training plan just like that and picked out a race for you! πŸ™‚

    I’ve never done a triathlon, but people always say I should because I run and I’m still a strong swimmer (albeit not fast like I used to be). But the one thing that keeps me from signing up for one is all of the stuff and logistics involved with a triathlon. So for now, they’re not for me.

    • It was very cool that she tried to get me all set up with the training plan & everything!!

      Triathlons really are a lot of fun, but I had forgotten how complicated the training is! I did the first few because I wanted to, but the more recent ones happened because I was injured & couldn’t run much. I was swimming and biking anyway, so I figured why not?

      You swim & run, so you do have an advantage! Maybe one day πŸ˜‰

  4. jensmart says:

    I have some beauties to add to the race photo collage – I’ll have to dig them up. There was one in particular with a fabulous wave effect where my legs look like rippled potato chips πŸ™‚

    And I’ve been meaning to tell you that I’ve started swimming. And by “swimming,” I mean going to the free outdoor pool, putting on Owen’s goggles and attempting to mimic what the smooth people around me are doing without erupting into a fit of coughing wild enough to elicit the attention of the teenager in charge of my life more than once or twice in the 30 minutes that I can tolerate attempting this ridiculous activity before my sinuses become so waterlogged that I don’t want to hold my head up any longer. Triathalon possibly within the next decade πŸ™‚

    But I’m with you on the equipment stuff. I would have to buy a bike. And learn how to take care of it. And buy all those items of clothing you were talking about that I don’t even really know exactly they are. And I would have to get my own goggles – pretty sure borrowing Owen’s every time won’t continue to be an option for long. And I’m pretty sure I will only swim during the summer at the free outdoor pool… I mean, honestly, that’s why I run. It’s so simple πŸ™‚

    • Ah yes, I am all too familiar with the rippling leg photos. I’ve had a few myself. We have old lady skin now πŸ™‚
      Very cool that you are swimming. It’s a good summer activity, I just can’t get into the pool swimming lately. Nice of Owen to share his goggles, too!

  5. Pingback: Bike ride to Scottsville | Healthy in Cville

Leave a Reply

