Another long run at Sugar Hollow

I ran the same loop that I’ve been running, but added an out and back up Turk Mountain. I also did a lot more walking.

The river crossings were not as deep. Somebody had moved several large boulders to be used as stepping-stones across the first one. It must have been a lot of work. I was very appreciative.

The tall grasses along the trail had also been trimmed, which was nice.

I saw a wild turkey and about a million mushrooms.

PhotoGrid_1405193035244IMG_20140712_130522This little guy was my favorite.

I also saw a lot of pretty flowers, of course.

IMG_20140712_130348IMG_20140712_092454_798Something about the way these ones appeared to hover above the ground seemed magical to me (like dancing fairies, or orbs of light.)

IMG_20140712_092332_326The well-endowed tree:

IMG_20140712_093626_776No?

There is a rocky outcropping at the top of Turk Mountain that offers unobstructed views to the west and north.

IMG_20140712_100139_987IMG_20140712_100221_256On the way back down, I wasn’t paying attention and almost stepped on a snake. I screamed and did some fancy footwork. I don’t know what kind of snake it was, but it was fat (maybe 3.5-4 inches in diameter.) It may have been a Rattlesnake.

Since I did so much more walking, I felt a lot better during the final stretch than I did last time.

The only thing that bothered me was my chafed skin. I got the chub rub!

I was surprised that I had Blue Hole all to myself. The cold water felt SO good. It was hot out there today.

I passed a steady stream of people heading up to the swimming hole as I was making my way back to my car. If I had been ten minutes slower, I would have had a lot of company for my swim. I’m kind of happy that I’m so speedy 🙂

This entry was posted in Trail Run and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Another long run at Sugar Hollow

  1. Danielle says:

    Looks like a great run!

  2. Jan says:

    That tree made me laugh out loud! There are definitely beautiful things in the woods. The mushrooms are especially interesting. We only have boring white ones here and the occasional morel.

  3. Meagan says:

    That’s a nice view from Turk Mountain! I’m glad there were no naked men in ‘your’ Blue Hole swimming spot this time 🙂

  4. Snakes are the only thing on this planet that will make me squeal like a little girl. I’m not being sexist; rather, the implication is that my screeching would be high-pitched, possibly capable of only being heard by dogs. During the 2014 Belmead Trail Fest, I made my friend run in front of me the the rest of the long race after nearing stepping on a sunning black snake. We encountered two more on the trail…..(shiver)

Leave a Reply

