Torry Ridge/Sherando Lake run

The plan was to do the 9.1 mile Torry Ridge loop twice, maybe adding a little extra somewhere to make it an even 20 miles.

But that’s not exactly how it went.

I decided to start with the gentle downhill section first (passing Sherando Lake at about 3.5 miles) then run the second loop in the opposite direction.Β  That way I would only have 3.5 miles left to run after I stopped for a swim on my second lap.

It had rained overnight and was still overcast as I headed into the surprisingly dark woods. My little spotted newt friends were all over the place. I had to watch where I was stepping to avoid squashing them.

PhotoGrid_1405795807415The campground was completely quiet the first time I passed through. I didn’t see another soul.

When I got to the lake, I decided to take the trail around the lake before heading up to the Torry Ridge trail. I felt like exploring a little, and figured it would be a good way to tack on an extra mile or two.

IMG_20140719_072009_827After that, it was a very steep and rocky climb up to the Torry Ridge trail. There were some nice views along the way, though.

IMG_20140719_073601_229IMG_20140719_073614_509~2That’s the beach where I had been about two miles before.

From here, it got a little bit tricky. I had never run the loop in this direction and had failed to bring a map with me.

I somehow managed to stay on course, though. It felt very much like dumb luck, but I’ll take it.

IMG_20140719_081948_547IMG_20140719_145202Back at my car, I drank what was left of my (no longer) iced coffee, re-applied Body Glide, and grabbed my second bag of snacks.

I also took a minute to check out the posted trail map, and found this little tidbit amusing:

IMG_20140719_111656_064~2I headed back up the trail in the same direction I’d just come. I hadn’t made it more than 200 yards before I realized that I didn’t remember locking my car door. I ran back and checked. It was locked. I headed out again.

I made it about 3/4 of a mile and my foot started hurting. I had brought my metatarsal inserts, knowing that I would probably need them for the second loop, but I had forgotten to grab them. I headed back to the car.

At this point, if I set out to do the entire loop again, I would end up running further than 20 miles. I didn’t want to do that, so I headed back down the trail to the lake, figuring that if I ran around the lake again, that would add up to just about 20.

After my second time around the lake, I was at 16.8 miles. I stopped for a swim. The sun had come out so I was surprised that I had the entire beach to myself.

IMG_20140719_102021_746~3It was hard to drag myself out of the water. If I hadn’t been so hungry, I would have stayed much longer.

I was a little worried about finishing the run with 3.5 miles of climbing, but it ended up not being an issue. The grade is so mild on that section of trail that I was actually able to run the entire way.

torry ridge maptorry ridge elevationFunny that the climb at the end looks so steep. I promise it’s not! The one at mile 5 felt just like it looks, though πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Trail Run and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Torry Ridge/Sherando Lake run

  1. Meagan says:

    Great run with great scenery! I recently read that if you encounter a bear you’re supposed to remain standing upright (i.e. stand your ground) and quietly walk away from it. But, if you encounter a cougar/mountain lion you’re supposed to fight it and make sure to never expose the back of your neck. You absolutely should not try to run from it. Now I’m kind of hoping I see a bear over a mountain lion! I don’t want to have to fight one of those things.

  2. Yikes! I’ll take the bear any day!

  3. CultFit says:

    Breathtakingly beautiful!!! Newts and all πŸ™‚

  4. Danielle says:

    Nice! Love the newts especially πŸ™‚

  5. Aren’t they cute? Look at those little legs!

  6. Jason says:

    Those are definitely some legit hills πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

