ACAC continued (yoga and cycle classes)

yoga bike

Gentle Hatha Yoga

Downtown
Friday, 3:00 PM – 4:15 PM

This class felt like it had a bit of restorative yoga mixed in, which was fine with me. We spent most of our time lying down and seated, but there were a few standing poses as well.

It’s a great class for recovery after a hard workout, or on a rest day.

Restorative Yoga

Albemarle Square
Sunday, 3:30 PM – 5:00 PM

This class requires so many props (bolsters, blocks, blankets, straps and eye pillows) that each session is limited to eight participants. You have to sign up in advance. I called a few hours before the class and the man who answered the phone told me that I was incredibly lucky. Somebody had just cancelled and he’d been unable to reach anybody on the wait list. He signed me up, but explained that I generally need to call about a week in advance for this particular class.

The session consisted of four completely supported (lying or seated) poses that we held for fifteen minutes each. In addition to these four poses, we started and ended with fifteen minutes of savasana (with props).

It sounds incredibly boring, but it felt amazing and I couldn’t believe how quickly the time passed. I almost didn’t want it to end.

I was a little leery of the eye pillows. They smelled (lavender?) and felt fantastic, but I’m ridiculously a bit paranoid about germs. In class, when an instructor tells us to rub our hands together to create heat and then place them over our eyes, I always cheat and put them on my forehead instead.  You should never touch your eyes! That’s how you get sick! I can’t let go of these thoughts. So, I didn’t like the idea of putting eye pillows that other people had touched and used on my eyes. I did it though, and tried very hard not to think about it.

I didn’t get sick.

Cycle CORE

Downtown
Wednesday, 9:15 AM – 10:15 AM

I wasn’t really interested in the core part, but this was the only cycle class that fit into my schedule for the day.

It was my first cycle class at ACAC. The online schedule says to sign up 15 minutes in advance (because there are a limited number of bikes). I arrived about 25 minutes before class and the sign up sheet wasn’t out yet. I went upstairs and did some foam rolling to kill time.

I wasn’t sure what I should wear, but decided on my triathlon shorts. I wore regular shorts over them so I wouldn’t have to walk around in them, though. There were only about 8 other people in the class and they were all wearing Capri workout pants.

The pedals on the bikes had clips on one side and cages on the other. I had worn running shoes and the cages worked fine, but it was nice to know that I could also wear my cycle shoes.

I started off with too much tension on my bike and quickly wore myself out. We did a number of intervals (speed, standing, hills). There was a puddle of sweat under my bike. I was happy that I’d worn shorts.

I also ended up being grateful that the class had a “core” component. That meant we were done with the bike portion at 45 minutes. I wasn’t sure I had another 15 minutes of cycling left in me.

We grabbed mats and kettlebells and went through a series of core exercises.

I was worried that my legs were going to be sore from all the standing (and hovering) we did on the bikes, but two days later it was only my abs that were sore.

Cycle

Downtown
Wednesday, 6:00 AM – 7:00 AM

I wore my tri shorts again and brought my cycle shoes to change into. This time I wasn’t the only one in cycle-type shorts.

The class was more crowded than the Cycle CORE class had been.

I liked that the instructor gave us number ranges to shoot for (cadence, resistance and watts). Although, I think there was something wrong with the watts feature on my bike. I was never working as hard as it seemed like I should be at the number she told us to shoot for. It was kind of fun to think that I’m just in such amazing shape that 300 watts is easy for me, but I’m pretty sure that’s not the case.

Don’t get me wrong, though. I was working hard! I started watching the clock with thirty minutes to go. A puddle of sweat accumulated under my bike again.

I grabbed one of the chilled towels out of the cooler on the way out. What a great perk! I wiped my face, then wrapped it around my neck. It always takes me forever to stop sweating after an intense workout. The towel helped cool me down more quickly.

About healthyincville

Nemophilist Trail runner Introvert Animal-loving vegetarian * My ideal city would be car-free. I love my cats.
This entry was posted in Local Events, miscellaneous and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ACAC continued (yoga and cycle classes)

  1. Meagan says:

    Glad you’re getting a lot of good use out of your ACAC membership! I’ve never done a yoga class before, but I think I would like them. My only yoga experience is Tony Horton and p90x. Ugh.

  2. I started cycle classes a few months ago to develop my quads and glutes in order to improve my running. I have yet to leave a class without my legs shaking and sweat pouring out of me. If you work hard in them and have a good instructor, they can kill you!!! Not literally, of course, but that’s how I always feel – just one watt away from a massive coronary.

Leave a Reply

