Portland, Maine; a city of superlatives

BEST SURPRISE found on a run:

Kurt and I went for a run on the Back Cove Trail, which is pretty cool, just on its own.

run around bayIMG_20141020_180707IMG_20141020_161929_675We were surprised when we ran by a park and saw the best (only?) public obstacle course we’d ever seen. Charlottesville, we NEED one of these! Please?

SO MUCH FUN!

IMG_20141020_160127_257Log walk
This was MUCH harder than it looks!

IMG_20141020_160227_211Pull-ups
I’ve been working on these! I did three.

IMG_20141020_160310_709Monkey bars

IMG_20141020_160416_752Climbing walls

I made a friend.

See? I have no trouble making friends. I just need to hang out at playgrounds in order to meet folks who enjoy the same things I do.

The walls got higher and higher. I had to run up to the highest one in order to have enough momentum to haul myself over.

IMG_20141020_160717_223IMG_20141020_160434_573IMG_20141020_160638_497Balance Beams

IMG_20141020_160957_205IMG_20141020_161023_749Cargo net
This was the biggest challenge for me. Climbing it was no problem, but getting over the top was SCARY!! My legs weren’t long enough to get good footing on the other side before shifting my weight over, which meant I had to balance on the very top for a minute. EEK!

I had so much fun doing this course that I almost forgot to worry about my knee on the run back to our hotel.

BEST DONUTS ever:

holy donutI don’t even particularly like donuts these days. In fact, I think it has been years since I’ve even had one.

THESE, however, are not even on the same level as your average donut. They’re made with mashed potato (not potato flour like the potato donuts here in Charlottesville.) The mashed potato transforms them into moist, dense circles of deliciousness.

portland1

Their best-selling donut is the dark chocolate sea salt and I will vouch for its awesomeness. It might just be the best chocolate thing I’ve ever eaten, and it wasn’t even my favorite flavor. That prize goes to the sweet potato with ginger glaze. What can I say? I’m a sucker for sweet potato.

And I didn’t even get to taste the chai or coconut ones…

About healthyincville

Nemophilist Trail runner Introvert Animal-loving vegetarian * My ideal city would be car-free. I love my cats.
This entry was posted in miscellaneous, Seen on the run and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Portland, Maine; a city of superlatives

  1. Danielle says:

    Can’t believe you were so close and we didn’t have a chance to see you! Hope you had a good trip. And yes, Back Cove is a pretty good Portland run. Love that you got out on the obstacle course too πŸ™‚

    • We were in NH for my cousin’s wedding & added a day to the trip to go to the Whites for our anniversary. But the place where we always stay was closed for the season so we went to Portland instead. We thought about you guys! We’ll definitely have to get together next time. I have a feeling we’ll be back (I’m not big on cities, but Portland is an exception!)

  2. Andi says:

    I’m impressed with your pull ups! I can barely do one. And I like you friend.

    • Pull ups are HARD! I’m trying to just maintain my ability to do a few.
      My friend was an interesting guy. He was impressed that a girl could complete the course and quite vocal about it πŸ˜‰

  3. Jan says:

    What an awesome thing to stumble upon! I hadn’t heard of those until over the summer when we visited a school by my niece & nephew’s house…they had something like that there. Must be a new thing!

  4. Meagan says:

    That looks like so much fun!! It looks very similar to a ROTC obstacle course. Those walls are like the ones we did at the Spartan Race. They get pretty tough, especially as they get higher!

    Those donuts look really yummy!

    • I can’t believe how much fun I had on that obstacle course! Maybe I should have been in ROTC πŸ™‚
      I’ve been having Holy Donut withdrawals ever since we left. I want one right now!

  5. With views like that, I’d be super motivated to run!
    Do you realize that Kurt and you are now legally required to Fedex your readers a Holy Donut during your next trip?

Leave a Reply

