Keeping life simple (why I didn’t join ACAC)

If I joined ACAC within two weeks after my 30 days for $30, they would have waived the initiation fee.

It wasn’t an easy decision. I wanted to join.

A big part of “keeping it simple” for me is living well within our means financially. We’re doing fine right now, but we don’t have any car payments. Both of our cars are getting old, though, so that could change. My work situation could change, too. Anything could happen in the next twelve months.

Just thinking about signing a year-long contract was making me anxious.

I don’t want to feel anxious.

I tried to find a way to rationalize it, or at least bring the cost down to a reasonable amount, but I just couldn’t do it.

First try: The $89.50 per month fee is about the same cost as one session with a therapist. That didn’t really work, though, because I stopped going to therapy as soon as I figured out how expensive it is. One of my main stressors is spending money. How is spending so much money just to talk to a therapist supposed to help me become less anxious about spending money?

Second try: I found out that Kurt’s work offers a “gym reimbursement.” As long as I attend twenty-one times every three months (I had been 15 times in the 30 days), they will reimburse us up to $75 per quarter. That would bring the cost down to $64 per month, which is not too far off from the $51 I’m used to paying.

But then I realized that I could use that same reimbursement on the $51, which would bring the monthly fee down to $26. Not only that, but at my other gym, I could pay for only two months per quarter if I wanted (or one, or none…)

Third try: I could give up my little splurges, like coffee and breakfast at Bodo’s or Whole Foods after my morning work-outs, and the expensive nut butters I’ve gotten in the habit of buying whenever they’re on sale (I’m talking about you, Nuttzo!)

But I don’t want to give these things up. And the difference is, I could give them up if I needed to. I haven’t signed a contract locking me into paying a monthly fee for them.

One of the reasons I love running so much is that it is so simple. I don’t need a gym. The reality, though, is that I have a lot of injuries (real and imagined.) If I want to stay in shape, I sometimes need other options.

So, I’m back to using the Smith Aquatic and Fitness Center and Carver Rec Center.

Right now, I’m headed out for a run and afterward, I’m going to grab some coffee and a muffin!

About healthyincville

Nemophilist Trail runner Introvert Animal-loving vegetarian * My ideal city would be car-free. I love my cats.
This entry was posted in miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Keeping life simple (why I didn’t join ACAC)

  1. Meagan says:

    Eh, it sounds like the ACAC is a gym that’s convenient to use for the 30 day trial deal they do but that’s about it based on cost. One of my favorite things about running is really all you need is a pair of shoes, if you want to make it as simple as possible. And you can take running with you pretty much anywhere.

Leave a Reply

