The reset (so far…)

It’s day four of the official reset, but it’s actually my sixth day without sugar. I’m a little surprised I’m still alive 🙂

Actually, I’m feeling pretty good. I’m definitely less bloated (most of my pants fit again!) and my eyes aren’t puffy. I haven’t had a headache and I think I’m less irritable.

I miss my dark chocolate, and I really wanted a huevos wrap from Whole Foods after my (freezing cold and wet) sixteen mile run yesterday morning. Over-all though, I haven’t been feeling deprived.

Prep

Last weekend I did some food prep for the week. I roasted some broccoli and beets, baked some sweet potatoes and boiled eggs and edamame.

I stocked up on fresh and frozen fruit and veggies. I’m not much of a cook, so frozen produce is a must for me. I think I might actually enjoy cooking if I didn’t have to work. I love eating good food, but just prepping basics for the week takes more time than I’m generally willing to spare on the weekend. I bought garlic and lime thinking that I’d make some tahini dressing for salads. I put some of the lime in my coconut water for my long run yesterday. The entire head of garlic is still sitting on the counter. It’ll probably go bad before I do anything with it. And I love garlic.

I wasn’t very clear about my rules in my last post, but basically I’m eating only whole foods and foods that contain ingredients that I recognize and could find at the grocery store.

I was happy to find that my favorite veggie burgers made the cut, AND they were on sale at Whole Foods. Score!

IMG_20150103_114703_541IMG_20150103_114719_334The hummus I bought was questionable. It contains citric acid. I looked it up. It’s a preservative that occurs naturally in citrus fruits. I considered making my own hummus from scratch, but decided to let it slide. It seems pretty harmless and I’m already spending plenty of time in the kitchen.

Here’s a look at what I’ve been eating:

Breakfast

Oatmeal or quinoa (cooked on the stove and made with unsweetened cocoa powder, mashed, over-ripe banana and a splash of vanilla extract.) I make a pot and keep the leftovers in the refrigerator. I get my chocolate fix early in the morning!

or

A pre-baked sweet potato reheated in the microwave with pumpkin pie seasoning and a spoonful of peanut butter. This is one of my staple winter breakfast foods.

and

an apple, orange, grapefruit or banana

If I’m particularly hungry, I’ll have some mixed nuts, too.

Lunch and Dinner

A bowl full of broccoli, edamame, avocado and chopped hard-boiled egg. I just kind of threw this together and was amazed how delicious it is! I ran out of broccoli after a few meals and substituted a mixture of frozen spinach and kale. I just pour a bunch of the frozen stuff into a glass storage container the night before to thaw. When I’m ready to eat, I grab the container, add some edamame and stick it in the microwave for about a minute, then add the avocado and egg (and a little salt and pepper.)

IMG_20141231_121718_740Beets (I’ve been choking these down. Not my favorite. I usually like beets fine, so I’m not sure what I did wrong. Maybe they’re just not a stand-alone food.)

Popcorn (cooked on the stove in olive oil)

Veggie burger in a soft corn tortilla (I said I was only cutting white flour, but I decided to eliminate wheat entirely.)

Refried beans and frozen (cooked) spinach in a soft corn tortilla with avocado and cilantro.

Cherry tomatoes.

Snacks

whole fruit
(One of my favorites: frozen [thawed] raspberries topped with sliced banana or mango

spoonful(s) of cashew butter
Most nut and seed butters have added sweeteners. You need to check labels.

IMG_20150103_132730_238carrots and hummus

mixed raw nuts

Eating Out

Kurt and I ate at Qdoba Friday night. I failed to check the ingredients beforehand, but figured it wouldn’t be too hard to find something that mostly complied with my Reset rules. I ordered a veggie burrito bowl with pinto beans, grilled peppers, guacamole, Pico de Gallo, Salsa Roja and romaine lettuce.

IMG_20150102_173320_871Once I got home, I checked the nutrition information.

Everything checked out fine except the Salsa Roja. It contains modified cornstarch, corn syrup, xanthum gum and artificial color (Titanium Dioxide). Yuck! If you’re ordering salsa at Qdoba, stick with the Pico, Roasted Chile Corn, or Mango.

Fuel for long runs

I drank coconut water and ate some dried (unsweetened) dates and apricots during my sixteen miler on Saturday morning.

I’m avoiding dried fruit other than during long runs, though. Too much like sugar!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The reset (so far…)

  1. Meagan says:

    Glad things are going well so far! What a difference it makes overall in how you feel just by cutting out the ‘junk.’ I’ve practically been living on water the past couple of days due to a bad toothache, which you may think would make me feel lighter or whatever. But I just feel bloated from sipping on water constantly. It keeps the throbbing at bay, though!

    I’ve never considered a sweet potato for breakfast. That sounds perfect, though. Especially on a cold winter morning. I’ll have to give it a try! Great job on you long run this weekend – those were some pretty tough weather conditions we had on Saturday (and y’all had it worse than us!).

    • Jan says:

      Sorry about your toothache Meagan! Ouch! 😦

    • Ugh! Hope your tooth feels better soon. That sounds pretty miserable 😦
      My long run Saturday was pretty tough. I’ve run in the pouring rain during the summer, but this was my first time running in a downpour in the winter. Not fun! Probably my second most miserable long run ever (weather-wise). I found some surprise chafing during my shower afterward too, but nothing like your heel. That looked painful!!
      Sweet potatoes make a delicious and filling breakfast. Especially if you add peanut butter!

  2. Jan says:

    This is so inspiring! Thanks for posting what you ate…definitely great ideas! I know I need to do something like this. I just can’t quite bring myself to start…

    • It’s really unlike me to do something like this. I don’t believe in dieting! I had just been REALLY overdoing it with the sweets and junk and felt like I needed to cut it all out just to get back to feeling normal.

  3. CultFit says:

    Natures treats truly are the best fuel for long runs … Back when I did run 😉 Still to this day I’ll pack up dates, fig and raisins for a long ride or a pre race pick me up. Great post and wishing you the very best this New Year

Leave a Reply

