The reset wrap-up

Today is the last day of my ten-day reset, which was an attempt to get back in the habit of eating healthfully.

My rules for the reset were:

1. No sugar or sweeteners of any kind
2. No processed foods (I ate some packaged foods, but went through the ingredient lists and made sure that I could identify every ingredient and that all the ingredients complied with my other rules.)
3. No dairy
5. No wheat

Prep for the second week:

Made a pot of chili I used this recipe from Oh She Glows. I left out the red pepper and celery because Kurt doesn’t like those. I also added an extra can of beans and a little cinnamon. To make up for the missing veggies, I added some of my famous spinach/kale mix to my bowl each night.
*I had to search to find a can of tomatoes that complied with my rules, but finally found some at Trader Joe’s.

Cooked oatmealΒ I mixed things up by adding mashed banana, vanilla, chia seeds and peanut butter.

Roasted potatoes Cut into one-inch pieces and tossed with olive oil and spices. I seasoned some with garlic and cumin to go with the chili and some with rosemary and garlic because I love rosemary. Kurt and I both ended up liking the cumin ones better, though.

Roasted broccoli I dump a bag of frozen florets onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Fresh would probably be better, but frozen tastes fine to me and I’m all about saving some time.

Baked apples This is one of my fall favorites. I wanted something that felt kind of like a treat, which these do! For the filling, I mix some oats and chia seeds in a bowl with a ton of cinnamon and a dash of mace. I sometimes add walnuts and raisins, but didn’t this time.

IMG_20141115_143659_070Then I core the apples and fill them with my oat mixture.

IMG_20141115_143208_906 I place them in a glass baking dish and add about an inch of boiling water (and some more cinnamon) to the pan. I baste the apples with the hot cinnamon water, then bake them in a 350 degree oven for about 15 minutes. Most recipes call for cooking them much longer, but I like them crunchy. I’ve had some come out mushy (either because I unknowingly started with mushy apples or because I overcooked them). When that happens, I mash them up and add them to my oatmeal. I don’t like to eat them on their own unless they’re still crunchy. I eat them just like I do a raw apple. They make a perfect post-run snack.

Baked tempeh I cut it into cubes, tossed it with a little olive oil and cumin and popped it in the oven while the apples were cooking.

IMG_20150103_180007_989Broccoli, tempeh, cilantro and lime bowl.

Sliced peppers I wanted something different to go with my hummus.

IMG_20150107_120638_799Over-all, I would call the reset a success. I’m feeling much better and craving healthy food instead of cookies and ice cream. Having said that, I’m ending the reset a little early. Kurt and I are going out for dinner tonight. I know that I could find something on the menu that complies with all of my reset rules, but I don’t want to. I ran very far in 17 degrees this morning and I want to eat what I want to eat. I don’t intend to go crazy (or even order dessert) but I would like a bun on my vegan burger and maybe some sweet potato fries.

About healthyincville

Nemophilist Trail runner Introvert Animal-loving vegetarian * My ideal city would be car-free. I love my cats.
This entry was posted in miscellaneous and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The reset wrap-up

  1. Congrats on completing the reset! Those baked apples sound delicious, I’ll definitely be borrowing that recipe!

  2. Jan says:

    Woohoo congrats on finishing! I don’t blame you at all for stopping just a little bit early. Those apples look amazing! Thanks again for sharing what you ate. I’m coming back here when I actually get around to trying this (which needs to be soon!).

  3. Danielle says:

    Impressive! Sounds like a good way to get back on track, but glad you decided it was ok to go back to eating a healthy but normal dinner, especially after a long run – that is never a day to deprive yourself! πŸ™‚ I take it the running is going well?! That is great!!!!

  4. Kathleen says:

    Nice work! Those apples are going into my meal plan for next week πŸ™‚

  5. Meagan says:

    Great job sticking to the reset! It looks like it was well worth it! πŸ™‚ I bet you’re feeling so much better and it’s gotta feel great to not be craving that sugary, processed stuff. All of the dishes you talked about sound so good, but especially those apples!

Leave a Reply

