Keeping life simple

Now that I can’t run (again) I have time to think about other aspects of my life, which makes me realize that in some ways I use running and training for races as a way to AVOID thinking about other aspects of my life.

Anyway, I came across a blog post via Twitter yesterday that I loved. I rarely get this excited about blog posts. It’s not even that it’s that fantastic. I mean, It’s good and it’s funny, but the reason I had such a strong reaction to it is because I AGREED so wholeheartedly.

It made me HAPPY and it made me want to be friends with this guy who is PROUD of his choice to drive an old, crappy car.

YEARS ago, when I first got on Facebook there was a thing going around where you were supposed to share some little-known or unusual facts about yourself. One of my facts was that I was strangely proud of my crappy car. It’s true. I always have been. Or, I used to be.

Charlottesville is a pretty affluent town. It’s easy, over time, to forget that it’s okay to feel GOOD about your decisions to NOT buy expensive things.

I’ve become more defensive and less openly proud of the fact that I drive an older, bare-bones car.

It’s refreshing to hear somebody say “Hell Yeah, I drive an old car! It’s AWESOME!”

Here are some of my favorites from that blog post by the Cash Cow Couple:

19 Reasons Why We Still Drive a 19 Year Old Car

Image by The Cash Cow Couple

Image by The Cash Cow Couple

1. It Runs
2. I Love to Eat – After a certain number of years pass, you just stop caring about keeping the carpets spotless. I’ll eat anything and everything while driving. If it falls on the seat or floor, I’ll still eat it. And never for one moment do I worry about stains.

7. It’s Worry Free – I don’t have to worry about a Walmart zealot dinging my door in the parking lot, or rocks causing the occasional paint chip. If that happens, who really cares.

12. It’s Simple – With less bells and whistles, less power everything, and less engine complexity, there are fewer opportunities for problems and maintenance.
 15. Keys are Cheap – What is going on with those new computer chipped keys that cost $250? Ours can be replicated for a dollar at Walmart.
17. It Makes Me Kind  Life is inevitably stressful, sometimes annoying and irritating even. The last thing I want to worry about is my car. That lady with screaming children who bumps me from behind at the stop sign. No Big Deal! Accidentally backed into that pesky telephone pole again? Just another carefree Monday my friend.
18. It Keeps Us Humble – A 19 year old car draws no attention and helps us remember that cars are meant to get from A to B, not to impress the person in the next lane who is financed up to their eyeballs. – See more at: http://cashcowcouple.com/lifestyle/why-driving-an-old-car/#sthash.UYZvEx5R.dpuf

******************

To this list, I’d like to add a couple of my own:

1. You can take pictures, do yoga, dance and star-gaze on your car.

Scan034pontiac yogs2. No need to pay for car washes or detailing because (really) WHY?

About healthyincville

Nemophilist Trail runner Introvert Animal-loving vegetarian * My ideal city would be car-free. I love my cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Keeping life simple

  1. Jacob says:

    Love your two additions, JoAnne! A big “Hell Yeah” for driving an old beater car around. May they run forever.

Leave a Reply

