Running for a Reason (other than a new PR)

Be More Charitable

Ragged Mountain Running Shop and C-VILLE Weekly are sponsoring a new program this year that is designed to get people to register for more races that benefit local charities. They’re calling it the C-ville-athon.

cvilleathonIf you register, and then run a total of at least 26.2 miles worth of local, non-profit races before the end of the year, you get a technical C-ville-athon t-shirt.

I don’t need the shirt, but I think it’s a great concept.

I feel like a hypocrite saying that about the shirt, though, since I just registered for my first qualifying race (the Charlottesville Ten Miler) and there was an option on the registration form to skip the t-shirt, and have the extra money go to the race charity instead, and I went for the shirt.

I wish this was an option at more races. In most cases, it’s something I would do, but I want my Charlottesville Ten Miler shirt. They’re promising a technical, gender-specific shirt for what is arguably the iconic local race. It may be selfish, but I want that t-shirt.

To my credit, though, I did make an additional donation to MACAA (the Monticello Area Community Action Agency) the official race charity beneficiary, to make up the difference for choosing the shirt.

In the past (I’m embarrassed to admit) I have often left the “additional donation” field blank when registering for races meant to benefit a charity.

I guess I figured I was doing something just by paying the registration fee, but the truth is, non-profit races are actually very inefficient when it comes to raising money through registration fees alone. Races are expensive to put on. The charities rely on people making additional donations.

So, being more charitable will be my first step in my quest to live a more meaningful life.

Running more non-profit races and actually donating to the charities is something I can do that will make all the training I’m going to do anyway a little more worthwhile.

Just for the record, I’m not completely uncharitable. Kurt and I make yearly donations to a few organizations that we both care about.

We could certainly do more, though, and I’d like to.

About healthyincville

Nemophilist Trail runner Introvert Animal-loving vegetarian * My ideal city would be car-free. I love my cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Running for a Reason (other than a new PR)

  1. Meagan says:

    That’s a great program! I don’t think it’s selfish for you to want the t-shirt. You’re paying for it after all. It’s a great option to be able to forgo the t-shirt and have the money go to charity instead, but I don’t think it’s something you have to do every time. Especially when you know you’ll definitely be wearing the race shirt. You could always donate to the charity separately from the race, if you wanted to 🙂

  2. Thanks! There are definitely a few races that I do actually want a shirt for. I did donate to make up the difference for the Ten Miler shirt and I plan to keep doing that 🙂

  3. Jan says:

    I love the idea of the option to skip the shirt & donate to the organization. I’m going to try to remember to do this for the charity race I organize.

Leave a Reply

