Blue Ridge Marathon Training (week 17)

It was another frigid and snowy week.

IMG_20150217_073212160I didn’t actually stick to the schedule, but realistically, I’m too far behind to even attempt to get back on track.

Anyhow, this is what my training looked like last week:

Monday:
Scheduled:
Rest or cross train
Actual:
Rest

Tuesday:
Scheduled:
11 easy miles
Actual:
9.25 easy miles on the treadmill at the gym.
The treadmills at Carver Rec Center shut off after an hour. There might be a way to keep that from happening, but I haven’t tried to figure it out yet. I planned to take a water break after an hour, anyway.

Wednesday:
Scheduled:
9 miles with 5 mile tempo run @ 8:30 pace
Actual:
7.85 mile speed workout with Charlottesville Speedsters at the UVA track:

2 mile warm-up followed by:
1 mile @ 8:03
4 minutes easy
2 miles in 8:05, 7:49
5 minutes easy
1 mile @ 7:46
cool down

I was pretty proud of myself for getting out there at 5:30 in the morning when it was only 11 degrees out. Oh, and I got a flat tire on the way there, but decided not to deal with it until after the workout. I was very happy that I had renewed my AAA membership.

Thursday:
Scheduled:
Cross train
Actual:
Rest
I had every intention of going to the gym and riding a bike or getting on the AMT for about an hour, but it snowed overnight. Because of the weather, the gym was only open from 10-5. I was at work that entire time. There was absolutely NO reason for the gym to close at 5pm. I was pretty upset about that.

Friday:
Scheduled:
Rest
Actual:
Rest

Saturday:
Scheduled:
20 easy miles
Actual:
20.06 NOT easy miles with Andi at the Monticello trail.
Well, the first 14 miles were fairly easy. Those last 6 miles would have been absolutely miserable if I didn’t have somebody with me. I was very grateful that Andi had suggested we meet up and run part of our long run together.

Sunday:
Scheduled:
10 easy miles
Actual:
3 easy (but not!!) miles on the treadmill at home with some walk breaks. Yikes! I was VERY sore, and my energy was LOW. I’m not sure if I’ve ever felt that bad the day after a long run.

This entry was posted in training and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Blue Ridge Marathon Training (week 17)

  1. FitNiceRunner says:

    Even here where we have gotten less snow than you it’s been crappy. The roads are impassable for days if there’s any accumulation and I just can’t take the treadmill for more than 90 minutes. Hopefully the sun comes out soon!

  2. The weather is definitely making everything difficult! I’m ready for spring.

  3. Meagan says:

    Great job getting out there and getting it done. That was one chilly track workout on Wednesday! Awesome job on the 20 miler. You’ve definitely got some endurance hanging around to be able to knock that thing out, no matter how sore you were the next day! I am soooo ready for spring.

  4. Danielle says:

    Good to see you are back on track! I think that sounds like a pretty solid week!! nice work!

  5. Jan says:

    I think any training plan with “easy” and “20 miles” on the same line is crazy. 20 miles is never easy. Although I wouldn’t know because I’ve never actually run that far. LOL Congrats on a solid week!

Leave a Reply

