Blue Ridge Marathon Training (Week 18)

Aaaaaand…More snow.

IMG_20150305_141905269

Monday
Scheduled:
Rest day
Actual:
Rest day

Tuesday
Scheduled:
9 easy miles
Actual:
6 easy miles on the treadmill at Smith

Wednesday
Scheduled:
8 miles total with 4 X 1 mile @ 7:51 with 400 jogs
Actual:
8 easy miles with a few stairs and hills thrown in for fun.

I went to the track at 5:30 and did my warm-up with the Speedsters, but I was still a little sore and felt like I needed more recovery before attempting another speed workout, so I just did my own thing.

Thursday
Scheduled:
Cross train
Actual:
4 easy miles on the treadmill

Another snow day. I called the gym to make sure they were open (which they were), but they closed before I got there (at 6 a.m.!!) It was 38 degrees and raining, but the forecast was for sleet and snow, which did come, but not until about 11 a.m.

So I went home and ran on the treadmill.

Friday
Scheduled:
Rest day
Actual:
Rest day

We were snowed in. We ended up getting about 6 more inches of snow on top of a layer of freezing rain. We live on a private road that doesn’t get plowed.

Saturday
Scheduled:
16 easy miles
Actual:
16 slippery miles on the Monticello Trail

I wanted to run somewhere else, but the snow and ice hadn’t had a chance to melt yet, so I knew running anywhere else would be extremely frustrating and probably dangerous as well. The Monticello Trail had at least been plowed, but there were still several icy patches to slow me down. I had pretty good energy, but I was having some issues with my right foot. The outside edge of my foot and the callus on my big toe were both hurting.

Sunday:
Scheduled:
9 easy miles
Actual:
cross train

I’m really trying to give my body more time to recover from my runs. Since I’d been forced to run on Thursday because the gym was closed, I decided to make Sunday my cross-training day.

I rode the stationary bike at the gym easy for 35 minutes, followed by 10 easy minutes on the AMT. I’m caught up on the Invisibilia podcasts, so I started listening to Serial.

About healthyincville

Nemophilist Trail runner Introvert Animal-loving vegetarian * My ideal city would be car-free. I love my cats.
This entry was posted in training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blue Ridge Marathon Training (Week 18)

  1. Meagan says:

    Sounds like you’re training smart! That should bode well for Blue Ridge.

  2. Jan says:

    Oh my gosh, seriously? (the snow). Someone call Mother Nature and tell her it’s March! That isn’t just a dusting, either. I looooove Invisibilia! I was bummed to realize I’d hit the end of a season. I also love Serial. Podcasts definitely make solo runs (and solo drives and solo housecleaning and everything) more tolerable!

    • I agree. By March, I am ready for Spring! Almost all of the snow we got was in March this year. Not good! I was very sad to get to the end of Invisiblia, too. I’m not even halfway through Serial though, so that should entertain me for a while 🙂

Leave a Reply

