30 Day Minimalist Challenge (Days 16 & 17)

16. Tackling sentimental items. 

This was a tough one for me. I finally parted with my “dit” blanket. Dit is a word that I made up for the ring of silky nylon along the edges, which I rubbed between my fingers and on my face. I slept with my blanket until I was too old to be sleeping with a security blanket. I’ve been carrying it around with me (in a box with other memorabilia) ever since. I must have personified the blanket in some way because throwing it in the trash felt like a betrayal to the blanket itself. It felt cold and heartless.

But I did it.

img_20161216_155039382-2

Notice the cute little kitty paws on the kitchen table, where they’re not supposed to be.

I also got rid of awards I won in junior high and high school. I wasn’t too terrible at math once they gave me a calculator. Kind of surprising after all the trouble I had trying to memorize those damn multiplication facts.

img_20161216_155216706_hdr-2

17. Declutter your shoe collection. Donate or recycle one pair of shoes you no longer wear.

Extra Credit: Donate or recycle three or more pairs.

No extra credit for me right now. I was only willing to part with one pair of old running shoes.

img_20161216_155427429

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

