30 Day Minimalist Challenge (Days 19, 20 & 28)

19 & 20. Virtual disconnect

I did my three days in a row. It was eye opening to realize how often I reach for my phone throughout the day. I carried a book with me and did a lot more reading than I usually do. I also listened to more podcasts. My favorite was the “Simply Happy” episode of the TED Radio Hour. It also coincidentally tied in very well with this challenge. If you have time, you should listen to it. But in case you don’t, I’ll share some key points with you. According to a recent study that asked people to rate their levels of happiness randomly throughout the day, people felt happiest when they were completely focused on what they were doing, regardless of what that was. Strangely, we’re happier when our minds aren’t wandering.

Simplifying our lives also makes us happier.

ep27_simply_happy

 

28. Don’t Beat Yourself Up. We are our own worst critic. Today, try tackling something you’ve been putting off or avoiding. If you find yourself reaching a challenge or having difficulty with a certain task, step away for a minute. When you feel prepared to tackle the task again, dive in.

I still haven’t changed my name on my passport. This challenge could drag on for months if we wait until I do that. Instead, I decided to tackle something else that I’ve been avoiding: the stuff in my shed. There is a gas fireplace in there that has been there since we sold the house last spring. I put it back on Craigslist. Someone is coming to look at it tomorrow. There was also a card table in there that I added to my donation box, which is now more of a donation pile.

About healthyincville

Nemophilist Trail runner Introvert Animal-loving vegetarian * My ideal city would be car-free. I love my cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

