Running in 2022

1518.1 miles run (Making 2022 my highest mileage year to date; slightly bettering my 1506.5 miles in 2017).

Four races: I finally ticked off two that have been on my bucket list for a while (the Blue Ridge Double Marathon and Mountain Masochist 50 miler) and repeated two of my favorite trail marathons (Conquer the Cove and Odyssey Trail Running Rampage).

It ended up being a great year for me! I placed in all four of my races and set PRs in the two I’d run before. Not too shabby for an old lady. Brian and I now have a running joke about all of my major awards. Running as in ongoing, but running as in running works too.

I’m even thinking about running professionally. A career change would probably be good for me.

Blue Ridge Double Marathon (April 16, 2022)

I placed second in the female master’s division and won a hand-made railroad tile running figure. My favorite award ever!

Conquer the Cove Marathon (May 29, 2022)

It was a good day for me. I ran less conservatively at the beginning than I usually do and it paid off. I set a race PR and placed first in my age group, winning myself a shiny new cowbell.

More cowbell!

Odyssey Trail Running Rampage Marathon (September 17, 2022)

I was second place female and fourth place overall and managed to snag myself another race PR. Whoo wee! That will probably never happen again. I was awarded a running cap for my efforts.

Mountain Masochist 50 Miler (November 5, 2022)

I still haven’t written a race report for this one. Let’s hope it doesn’t take as long as it took me to decide to register for the race.

It poured for hours. The mud was deep and slippery and I bonked pretty hard at the end but I’m so glad I did it!

Shockingly, my 8th-place female finish awarded me a snazzy new Rabbit running jacket. Very few women ran the race and the race director is generous with the prizes, which worked out nicely for me.

Happy 2023!
Now let’s go for a run.

Author: therunningnemophilist

Nemophilist Trail runner Introvert Animal-loving vegetarian * My ideal city would be car-free. I love my cats.

One thought on “Running in 2022”

Leave a comment