Running in 2023

958.36 miles run
My lowest mileage year since 2016

I started the year with a hip injury that kept me from running for almost two full months. It actually turned out to be degenerative damage so I wasn’t sure if I’d ever be able to run pain-free again. I was so relieved when after a couple of months of rest and physical therapy, I was able to run again. The pain eventually went away too. Now it’s just like my knee pain: it comes and goes.
In addition to my injury, it was just a stressful year in general. Brian and I moved from Charlottesville, Virginia (which had been my home since 2005) to Athens, Georgia. The actual move was a nightmare that had us paying rent for a flea-infested house while living in a series of hotels and Airbnbs with our three cats for more than two months. Those months coincided with me not being able to run (my primary form of stress relief) and us having to have our beloved cat Pippi put to sleep.
Once I was able to, we did a lot of low-key running while exploring the Georgia mountains, which I thoroughly enjoyed. I love spending hours out on the trails but I’m not as interested in actually training as I used to be. Lately, I prefer the runs where we spend some time at the overlooks and stop for a swim along the way.

Georgia mountains:

Two Races in 2023:

Marigold 10k (May 13, 2023)


Mystery Mountain Marathon (October 8, 2023)

Despite the low mileage, 2023 ended up being a pretty decent year for running. How can I complain when we got to spend so much time exploring the mountains of our new home state?

Brian and I have big plans for 2024. We’ve registered for the Cruel Jewel 50 miler in May and the Uwharrie 100 miler in October.

Author: therunningnemophilist

Nemophilist Trail runner Introvert Animal-loving vegetarian * My ideal city would be car-free. I love my cats.

Leave a comment